Making my first research poster is kind of like going off on a quest after hearing one vague prophecy from a elderly (and somewhat senile) wizard. What do you include? Where do you make it? What font size do you use? (I’ve seen anything from 8- to 24-pt font suggested, so at this point, I’m just waiting to see whether my prof says there’s too much text and orders me to lop off half of the poster.)

Thankfully, all questers run into wonderful and unexpected benefactors at some point during their journey… And mines happen to take the form of a handout from Swarthmore College, as well as the Flickr group “Poster sessions”. No, I never expected that I would be looking up for sample posters on Flickr of all places, but, right now, it’s a god-send. Where else do you find 294 research posters to sift through at your own perusal?

On a side note, I chuckled at seeing Wikipedia’s disambiguation link on their page for “Quest” (yes, I look up everything on Wikipedia, even if I don’t need to): “This article discusses significance-laden journeys.” Significance-laden journeys, you say? Hopefully at p < .05 at the very least.

